About UCSF Digital Accessibility

ITS (Information Technology Services) created a team to help all at UCSF meet our digital accessibility policy. The team includes Advisors, Core members and Specialists to create guidelines and resources.

The policy is that our digital communications and services be just as accessible to persons with disabilities as our facilities and programs are. UCSF is inclusive from the core. The technology of the internet, once a revolution of inclusivity, with all its innovations now inadvertently can exclude users with disabilities.

To help meet our policy and values, while innovating to meet UCSFs mission, we offer Digital Accessibility:

Guidelines – how to meet the criteria 

Training – classes, videos, online training, events and tailored to your department presentations and training

Advice – how to plan, use the resources of UCSF and work with vendors

The “digital” of digital accessibility, refers to communication that is digitally transmitted, for example, web, apps, emails, PDFs, etcetera. It does not include physical accessibility like alternatives to stairs and automatic door openers. Information about physical access can be found at Disability Resources.

Core Committee*

Ed Chen

John Kealy

Jonathan Prugh

Clay Littrell



Joe Bengfort

Jane Wong


* Core Committee members are also on the Advisory Committee

Advisory Committee

Doug Carlson

Anirvan Chatterjee

Michele Mizejewski

Tim Montgomery

Susan Riddle

Kimberly Romero

Judy Rosen

Sara Shaffer

Andrew Sinclair

Wendy Tobias

Aubrey Trujillo

Kyle Van Auker

Susan Walker